Read Our Reviews
from past brides
Overall Rating: 5.0/5.0 from 50 reviews
 
Hanne Deweer from Maidstone
on 23/03/2019
Sarah was absolutely amazing in helping me out. And very quickly found the style I liked. With this opening weekend it was great to see the new store it looks absolutely amazing and the place was buzzing. Very happy bride right here
Brooke from Maidstone
on 17/03/2019
Attendant was very nice and served us beverages. Had the option of helping get dressed and she didnt make you feel awkward about it. Very kind and very honest about the dresses.
Catherine Clark from Maidstone
on 03/03/2019
Came to try dresses for the first time, I was extremely anxious with no idea what I wanted and being a larger girl who gets flustered very easily I was so nervous I was breaking a sweat before we even got in the car to drive to the shop! Hannah was absolutley wonderful with me, she put me at ease, ensured I had fans to cool me down, let me take my time and stop for a biscuit when I felt faint and sips of water. I tried all sorts of different styles on working out what shape suited me. Will be returning very soon to make decision get an order placed and work out veils next!! Thank you so much Hannah for a wonderful experience even chilling me out enough for the odd giggle!
Debbie from Maidstone
on 01/03/2019
Had my fitting appointment today & as always a very enjoyable experience at Alta Costura. The seamstress I saw was Daphne and she was so lovely & very very helpful giving me lots of tips as well. Looking forward to going back end of the month and I will definitely be booking Daphne for the alterations of my bridesmaids dresses
Nicola Verrall from Marden
on 23/02/2019
Was a little nervous about going bridal shopping but Amanda ( I think sorry ) made me feel so at ease. Fantastic experience and I fell in love with the first dress I tried on. Thank you
Sarah Chittenden from Catford
on 22/02/2019
Alta Costura has a really welcoming atmosphere - I went to many other bridal shops and this was the only one that offered us a drink (and biscuits). There is a comfortable and spacious dressing area, which is perfect for people to accompany you. The assistant let us look at and pick out dresses at our leisure and I could try on as many as I wanted. She wasn’t pushy at all and helped me try on many dresses including off the peg dresses that were significantly cheaper. This was great because she was focused on selling me a dress that I liked rather than trying to sell me the most expensive one. The selection of dresses was fantastic and there were a lot of dresses that I liked. I hope my positive experience will continue when I have fittings and alterations in the next few months.
Pagen from Maidstone
on 22/02/2019
I had THE best day. Thank you so much!!
Katherine from Kent
on 21/02/2019
Amazing service as always. Every time I visit i feel like a real life princess. Daphne was fantastic and made me feel at ease and like I was the only bride there!
Lauren from Maidstone
on 19/02/2019
Ashleigh was so welcoming and helpful througout the appointment. I did not feel rushed or pushed to make any decisions which allowed me to really find the styles that best suited me - i hope to be back soon to make a final decision!
Elaine Turner from Maidstone Store
on 16/02/2019
Thank you Alta Costura, for helping me find the right dress for my wedding and the incredible patience and fantastic service today, Amanda you were amazing in helping me, get in and out of the gowns I was trying so professional, but with a personal touch that made you feel special and her guidance was amazing. The whole team are fantastic nothing too much trouble. I am so glad I made an appointment to visit Alta, and have found the right dress for me for my wedding, I now can't wait for my special day.
Maureen from Maidstone
on 13/02/2019
really lovely sales assistant who took the time to allow me confirm dress shapes I don't like and surprised me with a lovely dress with shape I would never have considered that looked like WOW on me.
Hannah from West Sussex
on 12/02/2019
The team at Alta we’re so friendly and I received such outstanding service. Ines the seamstress worked her magic and my dress was absolutely perfect. Thank you
Connie Rae from Maidstone
on 09/02/2019
Today was so much better than I anticipated! I was really nervous because I still have a lot of weight to lose but after being encouraged to book an appointment at the Detling Wedding Fair and having today’s appointment, I feel amazing! Thank you to Lauren for reassuring me and encouraging me to come into Alta Costura! Debra was brilliant! I loved her reassurance and honesty, and she helped me to select dresses which were suited to me. Despite still needing to lose a lot of weight, I honestly felt amazing in each dress I tried! Debra really took in the information I’d sent over regarding my ideal budget, my likes and dislikes and she tailored this entire experience perfectly! When I walked in this afternoon I was feeling apprehensive and, to be honest, a little negative. When I left, I felt the complete opposite: I left feeling on top of the world. I cannot recommend Alta Costura enough! I was made to feel special. The only problem is that I can’t show my fiancé my dress yet, haha! I can’t I wait to try my dress on again for my alterations!
Tara porter from Rochester
on 09/02/2019
Myself and three of my bridesmaids visited Alta Costura on Saturday for my first wedding dress shop. I had no idea what style dress I wanted when arriving. We were greeted by some lovely woman and I was introduces to a lovely lady called Sarah. Sarah was extremely helpful and pointed me in the right direction. After just a couple of dresses she knew exactly what suited me and after a few more we narrowed the fitting down to two dresses. I arranged another appointment in April ( after hopefully dropping a dress size ) to return and left the store feeling very satisfied and happy with what we had achieved today. Can't wait to return and hopefully find THE DRESS.
Melanie Luck from Maidstone
on 09/02/2019
Absolutely fantastic seamstress!! Felt very comfortable and relaxed and I’m very excited to see my dress after it’s alterations!! Thank you!!
Rebecca from Canterbury
on 05/02/2019
Really helpful, friendly and relaxed.
Anonymous
on 02/02/2019
Was lovely to be offered a drink whilst we waited. We asked for another mid dress try on and that promptly arrived. Amanda was so helpful, didn’t mind that I didn’t have a clue what I was looking for! But didn’t make me feel as though I could only pick a few dresses. If I wasn’t sure I could still try! It really helped me to narrow down the type of dress I might want
Michelle gore from Ashford
on 30/01/2019
I am still overwhelmed with happiness after finding my one perfect wedding gown, the whole experience was just lovely, from first arriving and being met with a warm welcome and a cup of tea, to the lovely assistant Lara.. she listened so attentively to what I liked and disliked and worked her magic to find exactly the right dress for me!! Thankyou so much for a memory I will treasure xx
Emma Masey from Maidstone
on 29/01/2019
I had an amazing experience at this store with the lovely Alison. She was so kind, patient and knew exactly what to do to help me find my perfect dress. I would highly recommend this store to everyone I know.
Jennifer Cogger from Maidstone
on 28/01/2019
Had a great experience trying on many different styles and didn’t feel rushed or pressured at all. I was even given some extra time at the end of the appointment and was really happy with the prices of the dresses. I look forward to coming back for my next appointment.
Katie wisdom from Sittingbourne
on 28/01/2019
Came in today for my dress altaration, looked after by lovely staff they always make you feel so welcome and special, look forward to coming back in March ??
Natalie Hailes from West Malling
on 27/01/2019
Many thanks to Hannah for being patient and helpful in finding bridesmaid dresses for my girls
Jade from West sussex
on 05/01/2019
The ladies at Alta Costura are amazing they couldn’t do more to help you find your perfect dress. I’ve been back to the shop three times in the last few months, I found my dress, my two daughters dresses and my accessories. I couldn’t recommend them more nothing is to much trouble for them. They have made my dress finding experience the best.
Stephanie from Canvey Island, Essex
on 27/12/2018
After having an awful experience somewhere else, I was hesitant about going to try on more dresses. But, I had the wonderful Allison who had the most contagious spirit and energy. She pulled so many different dresses and was determined to make sure I enjoyed myself. The cherry on the cake was finding my perfect dress.
Amy Bulled from Crawley, West Sussex
on 12/12/2018
I had my first ever wedding dress appointment on Saturday with Emma-Jane. I had my Mum & my two elderly Nan’s with me. I didn’t know what to expect from this brand new experience, but Emma-Jane made me feel so comfortable and at ease through the whole appointment. She couldn’t have been more correct in explaining how you can come into the shop with the idea of your perfect dress, and yet leave having chosen something completely different to what you thought you wanted! After much help from Emma-Jane I left having ordered my perfect dress which brought both my Nans to tears. So thank you so much to Emma-Jane and the team at Alta Costura for making this such a lovely memorable experience for me and my family, they also loved the tea and cookies whilst I was trying on dresses! I can’t wait to come back when my perfect dress has arrived :D xXx
Sophie Saint from Hastings, East Sussex
on 09/12/2018
I can’t express enough my gratitude to the wonderful ladies at Alta Costura. They have made my whole experience stress free and enjoyable. They make you feel special and don’t rush you. They are so professional and make you feel well looked after and relaxed. Fantastic customer service. I need to give a special mention to my seamstress too. Ines, what a lovely lady. Thank you to the team! Well worth travelling from Hastings to your beautiful bridal shop!
Kristina from Maidstone
on 06/12/2018
I had a great time trying the dresses on. Lauren gave me great advice, didn't pressure me into anything. She gave me free rain in looking at all the different styles and even showed me stock in the back, that she thought I'd like. Knew what my budget was and stuck with it, didn't show me any i couldn't afford, which i thought was great
Chenice Sparkes from Canterbury
on 06/12/2018
I had Debra assisting me with choosing my wedding dress and she was fantastic! She listened to what I was looking for and made some really helpful suggestions and observations of what type of dress would suit my figure as I was trying different styles on and as a result I found my perfect dress! I didn't feel rushed at any point and really enjoyed my wedding dress experience, Would definitely recommend to anyone!
Sam from Tonbridge
on 04/12/2018
I was very unsure about going to a bridal shop to get my wedding dress but Alta Costura made me feel so relaxed and welcome, I found my dress! Emma Jane was so helpful and very patient. She took me to their shop across the street too so I could be sure i'd found my dress. Brilliant service and the seamstress is amazing too! Thank you Ladies XX
Sarah Ellis from Maidstone
on 03/12/2018
This place is amazing! Truly! I was very apprehensive before my visit but the ladies were amazing. So friendly & knowledgable. Really helped to put me at ease. My assistant Sarah was fabulous. I encourage you to trust her more than yourself as she really knows her stuff & will make you look a million dollars. I’m a big girl but felt normal in here! Special even. Can not recommend highly enough. Book your appointment ladies, you won’t be disappointed! Ten stars awarded if I could!
Katy cross from Maidstone
on 22/11/2018
Loved every second of it. Last minute plans to Marry and less than 2 months until the big day, along with a specific style of dress in mind meant the challenge was on! The member of staff that helped me was so warm, welcoming & supportive of my situation and found me the perfect dress! Haven't stopped smiling since. Thank you.
Louise mortimore from Maidstone
on 28/10/2018
Lovely visit to this shop staff was very helpful in helping me and my daughter find bridesmaids dresses. We are looking forward to our next visit when we get to see our dresses.
Gemma Vliers from Rye, East Sussex
on 27/10/2018
Can not fault My experience today. Turned up to the shop without an appointment and was lucky enough to be given some time to try on dresses. I was listened to very carefully and although there wasn’t a dress I was dreaming of, a bespoke dress has been created with the vision of the wonderful assistant. I’m so excited and so looking forward to going back to try on the dress. The price was so reasonable and realistic as well. Thank you so much ??
Sophie from Maidstone
on 24/10/2018
I have come in the shop multiple times now and every time I have come in they have been beyond helpful
Rebecca Ferguson from Rochester
on 22/10/2018
I was helped today by Sarah. She was really Friendly and very helpful and most importantly for me non judgemental! Sarah spent a lot of time with me and had me in and out of dresses, and was very patient even if i did try on the same dress 2 or 3 times. There was no pressure and we were informed of payment procdures and time frames and were left unpressured to be able to make a descion. Sarah was very knowledgeable about the products and kept me at ease. This was a great experience for me. And am glad i have choosen to purchase my dress with Alta Costura.
Amy from Maidstone
on 18/10/2018
The best experience today after an awful experience somewhere else earlier in the day. I was fitted in and walked in straight away to find the dress I've always dreamed of. The consultant was amazing and so kind. You've made me so happy and gone above and beyond. Thank you xxx
Nikki from Maidstone
on 14/10/2018
After my first wedding dress shopping being a bit of a disaster at a different shop, it was nice to feel happy and relaxed in Alta Costura. Sarah was so lovely and made the whole experience a million miles better. She gave honest opinions based on how I reacted to dresses and I think I may have found the one. Thank you again
Kaylie
on 10/10/2018
I really enjoyed my experience at Alta Costura, the bridal store is lovely and there are a huge variety of dresses! So many that I now have 5 to choose from. Vicki who helped me in and out of the dresses was very helpful and made me instantly feel comfortable. I will be going back to try my dresses again so I can narrow them down. I couldn't reccomend this store anymore!! Look forward to my second visit. Thanks so much for all your help! Xxx
Louise from Maidstone
on 09/10/2018
Having visited a few shops to find my dream dress I was so thrilled to find it today !! Great personal service, lots of beautiful dresses and made to feel special. Big thank you to Sarah
Clare Morgan from Gabriel’s hill maidstone
on 08/10/2018
On Saturday 6th October i had an appointment, I was greeted by Emma-Jayne who made me feel very comfortable and we sat down for a consultation about my wedding dress!! We were then offered a drink!! Emma-Jayne made my whole experience lovely she really involved my 7 year old son and made everything feel comfortable and happy!! With the amazing customer service from Emma-Jayne I found my dream dress!! Thank you so much ?? it’s the little things like a chat, a cuppa and a smile that made my appointment so lovely.
Hattie Wyborn from Maidstone
on 07/10/2018
Emma-Jane was fantastic and put me at ease right away. She was very professional and easy to talk to. She wasn't pushy or rushed, which I did experience in other shops locally later that day. Thank you for a lovely shopping experience I'll definitely be back.
Jade from Maidstone
on 29/09/2018
What an amazing experience!! I had been dreading my first try on as I had no clue what I wanted and was sure I'd end up confused and stressed. I was so nervous but from start to finish Hannah was amazing! She made me feel so at ease and clearly knew her stuff! The dresses were all beautiful, a really good range of shapes and styles. All staff were helpful and happy. It felt like Hannah really listened to my thousands of little comments regarding what I did like and didn't like and the 'I'm not sures' and managed to understand exactly what I meant. Hannah thank you so much for making this experience for me ? I can't wait to come back for fittings with my dream dress!
Sally Davies from Maidstone
on 29/09/2018
Joanne has been absolutely wonderful. She was so understanding, professional and friendly through all 3 of my visits to Alta Costura. I found the most amazing dress and i can't thank Joanne enough!
Olivia Cullen from Sittingbourne
on 19/09/2018
Amazing service from Hannah! I was nervous before visiting the store as i’d convinced myself that the perfect dress didn’t exist. She listened to EVERYTHING that I said! She helped me find my dream dress and was friendly and approachable every step of the way! Thank you so much!
Zara Bushaway from Ashford Kent
on 18/09/2018
Polite patience staff that really listen and were able to provide beautiful dresses as per your suggestions. We were made very welcomed and nothing was too much bother.
Abbie Farrow from Birchington
on 16/09/2018
I can't remember the ladies name that I had but she was absolutely wonderful! So helpful and friendly and made it such a lovely experience, nothing was too much trouble. I can't wait to show my bridesmaid the dress!
Laura from Sittingbourne
on 15/09/2018
Gorgeous dresses, tried on quite a few as I’m undecided! The lady who helped me, hannah was amazing! Completely calming, very reassuring, always happy to help even when i was awkward and nervous! Really knew her stuff! Picked out the perfect veil to match a dress amazingly. Not sure if its my dress but she wrote all the details down and wasnt pushy. She actually cared that I found the right dress rather than sales! Would deff recomend!
Ashlea from Maidstone
on 08/09/2018
Perfect dress shopping experience! Felt no pressure to buy on my first appointment which was refreshing. Came back today to try on a 2nd time and said yes to the dress! Deb was so lovely and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Can’t wait to come back when my dream dress arrives!
Hannah from Crawley
on 31/08/2018
Wow what an amazing experience. The choice of dresses was amazing. My consultant (Vicki) was so welcoming and friendly. She listened to my preferences and was extremely knowledgeable, so much so that I bought the first dress she picked out for me! Thank you for such a wonderful experience and outstanding service.
Katy Beyzade from Ashford
on 31/08/2018
Amazing experience yesterday in Maidstone. Staff were so friendly and made the entire experience amazing. I think I have found the “dress” but as this was my first visit to any bridal shop and I was very unsure on style or look I wasn’t quite ready to commit yesterday. Although I will only be coming back to this store in a few weeks to try on 2 of the dresses again and I know I will walk away with the one! Thanks again I highly recommend and the store is just beautiful to