Read Our Reviews
from past brides
Overall Rating: 5.0/5.0 from 50 reviews
 
Sarah Ball from Invercargill
on 10/02/2024
Honestly, just heavenly. Thank you! Courtney and Donna - I never imagined I would be wearing a dress like you’ve found and sorted for me. This is just so incredible. Oh my heart!
Samantha bell from Invercargill
on 05/02/2024
Amazing service!! Made me feel so comfortable thanks so much for all your help highly recommend:)
Tessa from Invercargill
on 30/01/2024
Thank you so much to Donna and Courtney for the most wonderful, enjoyable and relaxing experience for both mum and myself. Both of the girls listened to what I liked/disliked and pulled a beautiful range of dress- I would have been happy to wear any of them! Thanks again!
Rachel Morrow from Tapanui
on 28/01/2024
I went to my appointment feeling a bit crappy about myself. I had my bridesmaids with me that always cheer me up. I had a couple of styles in mind and Courtney took on board my likes and dislikes. First dress she pulled out for me was stunning, everything I had asked for, I thought, yes, this is the one. I challenged her to try and top it and use her expertise and pick something for me. Well… WOW. She done it! I ended up going for something that wasn’t even on my radar and even made myself and my Maid of Honour cry. I left feeling confident I’d look amazing on my wedding day. Thank you for a wonderful experience!
Hannah McIntosh from Invercargill
on 18/01/2024
Wow! Before going to try on wedding dresses for the first time I was so nervous. Courtney instantly made me feel so relaxed! Courtney made my bridal experience what it should, we laughed, cried and had a great time. For my second fitting I was excited, I couldn’t wait to get in and put ‘my’ dress back on. Courtney topped it off with a little bouquet and that was the moment it all become real; with the help of Courtney and Donna I am getting married!!
Sheri from Invercargill
on 08/01/2024
Really loved my experience of trying on dresses for the first time at Donna Rae with Courtney. She was very helpful and listened to what the styles I liked and trying the sleeve options which made me feel comfortable. We loved the big beautiful chairs to relax in and I also appreciated the glass of water, as we rushed to get there on time and trying on dresses is thirsty work! I tried on so many beautiful dresses and couldn't decide on one at the time, but all the dresses have the most incredible lace on them. Loved the variety of gorgeous lace dresses, they were all stunning!
Georgie Robertson from Dunedin
on 24/11/2023
Honestly the best day! Donna made me feel so comfortable and like I was the most beautiful bride, we had so much fun! And I think I found my dress!
Kelsey from Dunedin
on 20/11/2023
I would tell any bride to go straight to Donna to get a dress. Not only does she know her stuff, she is beyond kind, patient, fun and self-less in her pursuit of finding you the exact right dress. She knew what I wanted before I did and made the special moment of selecting a dress very memorable; thank you so much!
Isla Irvine from Christchurch
on 13/11/2023
I didn't realize the emotion involved in picking a dress and officially saying YES. I hadn't prepared myself to cry when I saw it. When I tried it on and it was perfect. Donna and Courtney were amazing and to try on 7 dresses and find one and not want to take it off that was it. The look on their faces when they seen my face they knew they had nailed it. I felt like an absolute princess. I am so glad I made the trip to come down from Christchurch to see you two! Thank you so much.
Vanessa from Rotorua
on 30/10/2023
I had seen this shop a couple of times when visiting friends, I had looked on there website and set my heart on this shop when I got my dress. I flew all the way down from Rotorua for the day, on my own , I was really nervous , but I’m so glad I went ! Donna Rae is so lovely and the lady who helped me with my dress made me feel completely at ease, even though I went on my own I loved my shopping experience , and I said yes to the dress! I would of travelled twice as far to go to This shop, just perfect
Kim from Invercargill
on 28/10/2023
My consultation with Courtney was far better than I expected. She listened and selected the most perfect gowns for me to try on. She “got me!” I felt safe, comfortable and confident. I’d recommend to any bride that you must visit these girls no matter your budget, size, shape, venue, or guest list. I’m super glad I made an appointment. I found the dress of my dreams. xx
Michaela from Dunedin
on 24/10/2023
Shopping for your dress at Donna Rae’s is such a special experience. Her studio is glamorous and spacious, and she has a huge selection of exquisite gowns to choose from. I was very nervous at the start as clothes shopping is not something I enjoy. Courtney immediately put me at my ease and was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She listened to my likes and dislikes, and even when I couldn’t make my mind up, I never felt pressured. Courtney was very good at bouncing off my sassy attitude too which I appreciated big time as it lightened the atmosphere and made the experience a delight. I felt like I was in good hands. I highly recommend!
Courtney McElligott from Invercargill
on 30/09/2023
Want to thank you Courtney & Donna for one amazing experience! You both made it such a magical and beautiful moment for myself and my mum. I appreciated how you Courtney listened to what both myself and my mum had to say and kept bringing back dresses that we thought were just gorgeous. I had imagined wedding dress shopping and you just made it 100% better and more then I could of imagined. Can definitely tell that you love your job and love to see brides crying happy tears. The appointments were set out so lovely and we both felt so comfortable. Both mum and I loved every time we came in we were greeted with a huge smile and how are you today. Loved how you remembered who we were and what styles I loved. Thank you so much for helping me find my dream dress! Cannot wait to wear it on my special day. You two are a 10/10 in this industry xx
Kylie from Central Otago
on 11/09/2023
Courtney was just amazing! I honestly felt sick walking in all by myself haha. She put me at ease immediately and we had a lot of fun. Such gorgeous dresses and a great experience.
Tes Paewai from Clinton
on 04/09/2023
Am incredibly special trip to your salon. Amazing service from Courtney, she was so much fun, and her expertise with the dresses was outstanding. Just another level up from any other salon I have been to. Such a great experience.
Wanda Wright from Dunedin
on 03/09/2023
OMG what a trip !! You and Courtney made me/us feel so welcome and relaxed and very special !! I had in my mind what I thought I wanted but ended up (as you know) with something so different and beautiful and very out of my comfort zone. We were done and dusted in 45min LOL with the very best experience I/we could have wished for. Donna & Courtney you are amazing so thank you from the bottom of my heart !!! We had such fun as well . Will be definitely recommending you to as many up and coming bridal parties as I can. Roll on January.
Tayla Elder from Mataura
on 22/07/2023
Thank you so much Donna, you made it such a beautiful and special time for me and my girls. Will most definitely be recommending to other brides to be. You and your team are amazing at what you do, a wee southland gem id say. There will most definitely be a toast to brides by Donna Rae on my special day
Lynley Macdonald from Winton
on 04/07/2023
Dear Donna We just loved the experience with you today you made it so easy and very relaxed and managing with our short timeframe and budget. Liv looked stunning in every dress but we were thrilled with the one she said yes too. You have Such a beautiful store and such valuable expertise. Thank you so very much from the MOB Lynley Mac
Lynley Macdonald from Winton
on 04/07/2023
Dear Donna We just loved the experience with you today you made it so easy and very relaxed and managing with our short timeframe and budget. Liv looked stunning in every dress but we were thrilled with the one she said yes too. You have such a beautiful store and such valuable expertise. Thankyou so very much from the MOB Lynley Mac
Hannah Evans from Mandeville
on 30/06/2023
I was very nervous and self conscious for my bridal appointment. I was terrified there would be nothing my size being a plus size woman. Donna and Courtney so kind and supportive, they got me into 5 dresses and with each one I couldn’t believe how beautiful I looked and felt. I felt their feedback was genuine when they pointed parts of dress styles that worked or didn’t with my body shape (I was originally set on sleeves and ended up with only straps!). They are so knowledgeable and, I can’t stress enough, positive! Never once during the appointment did I feel awkward or insecure. I left with my beautiful dress and a huge smile, feeling light and excited to wear this dress on my wedding day. All the worries I had about the appointment and concerns they would treat me like previous sales woman had in the clothing industry, were whisked away and I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Donna Rae Bridal!!
Jo O'neill from Southland
on 10/06/2023
Sorry I have taken so long to get this feedback to you Donna! You were incredible and sooo patient with me being so painfully indecisive! Thank you so much for taking all that time to go through everything with me in your beautiful store with your beautiful selection! I decided to go just a cocktail dress for my day as I didn’t feel like myself in a big bridal gown but thank you so much for the epic experience and letting me explore all the options! Thank you!
Jade from Queenstown
on 09/06/2023
I was very impressed with our fitting! I didn't know what to expect, but walked away with more confidence to choose the dress for me! Thanks so much Donna :)
Alexandra from Dunedin
on 20/05/2023
You really are the dream team !! Your knowledge and expertise are exceptional. I was made to feel very special. You listened to my vision and pulled the most stunning dresses.
Nina from Invercargill
on 08/05/2023
I wasn’t particularly excited to be trying on dresses, the bridal industry seems to make it this big thing but Donna Rae was amazing! She has so much knowledge that she could share to help with understanding dress fit and alteration required for fit. She made it so fun and it was really a pleasure to try on her dresses. She really took the time to help me find the right dress. Can highly recommend Donna Rae bridal to any bride.
Vanessa from Rotorua
on 06/05/2023
Absolute amazing ! I knew this was the shop I was going to from the moment I saw it ! Amazing staff, love my dress! Worth the travel!
Sarah Read from Invercargill
on 29/04/2023
Exceptional service, beautiful gowns and such a lovely, friendly and welcoming environment and culture! I felt absolutely valued and beautiful! You made me feel so comfortable, thank you so much xx
heather o'donnell from Queenstown
on 25/04/2023
Absolutely loved my experience. Both Donna and her assistant Courtney we’re wonderful. Made me feel super relaxed and taken care of and the dresses were all beautiful. Have already recommended the place to friends with weddings coming up.
Sally Beattie from Southland
on 20/04/2023
Just Fabulous A Plus Sized Bride - they "Got It" Understood shape, what would work with body shape, provided honest (but positive) opinions. Nothing was a problem - I rocked up in "work clothes (- steel caps inclusive!!) and still managed to feel like all the potential of a beautiful dress was possible. Thank you "Brides by Donna Rae"
Tayla S
on 19/04/2023
A huge thank you to Brides by Donna Rae. I had the most incredible experience and said YES to the dress. I felt extremely comfortable and welcomed. Highly highly recommend!
Ceilidh Brookes from Balclutha
on 15/04/2023
Absolutely amazing! Courtney did a fabulous job! I cannot wait to wear my dress!
Mackenzie Reid from Invercargill
on 15/04/2023
I had a wonderful special experience, I felt so bridal and excited for the wedding. Thanks Courtney and Donna for making it a special day and helping me find my dress!!!!
Erin from Southland
on 06/04/2023
Such a fun experience! Donna was so so helpful and made picking my dress much easier as she sure does know her dresses! Was exactly what I needed as I’m so indecisive. Thank you!
Jenna Coleclough from Dunedin
on 20/03/2023
I had an amazing time during my appointment at Brides by Donna Rae! Donna and Courtney are both so lovely and made me feel so comfortable. The nerves were gone as soon as I tried on the first dress, and I ended up having so much fun trying on such stunning gowns! I can't thank you enough, I ended up enjoying my appointment so much I am disappointed it is over haha!
Rebecca from Dunedin
on 13/03/2023
Courtney and Donna went out of their way to make the appointment magical. From the moment I stepped through the doors until I left they made me feel so special. They knew exactly what dresses would suit my body and what I had described to them and they understood my vision so perfectly. They listened when I said I wasn't a fan of particular styles and pulled dresses that were more what I was looking for. I walked out of the store having picked my dream dress and the girls really contributed to the appointments success
Daniela from Invercargill
on 11/03/2023
I can't say thank you enough Donna! I was so nervous but what an amazing experience. Thank you for helping me find my dress I LOVE IT! You really are amazing at what you do, thank you so much xx
Sarah Plunkett from Thornbury
on 06/03/2023
Courtney and Donna were so helpful in finding my dream wedding dress! Even if it was one they weren’t so sure about themselves! Thanks again for all your help
Belinda Strano from Queenstown
on 05/03/2023
Thanks so much to Donna and her amazing team for helping me find such an amazing dress (as I went in not really knowing what I was after). They have a great sense of what dresses will look good on you and really listen to what you may or may not want. Thanks ladies
Nic from Invercargill
on 04/03/2023
Donna is amazing. She knows to dress different body shapes and enhance different body parts. She also listens so well to make slight alterations from dress to dress and really nail it. This was my second visit after coming with my sister a couple of years back. Donna welcomed us like old friends and I felt very comfortable with her.
Alysha from Central otago
on 25/02/2023
Donna is amazing and was good at calming my nerves as I didn't know what to expect. After speaking to me after a few minutes she knew exactly what I wanted and needed. I found the one and only which is absolutely stunning and was in budget. Highly recommend.
Zara from Gore
on 12/02/2023
Thank you Donna, for helping me decide on the gown of my dreams. I came in alone for a second visit to make the decision without being influenced by anyone else's opinion. I did not expect to say YES to my dress that day. You listened to what I 'thought' I wanted, BUT helped me find what I truly wanted.
Sarah
on 10/02/2023
I really had no idea what I was looking for. But Donna and Courtney looked after me every step of the way. They let me try on so many styles which in turn lead me to finding my dream dress! Nothing was ever a problem. They were not going to rest until I was happy! Thank you Donna and Courtney.
Tracey Gibb from Invercargill
on 08/02/2023
I came into the store with absolutely no idea what I wanted or what to expect, and still cannot believe the first dress Donna picked for me to try was the winning dress! Fantastic service and made me feel so comfortable in the whole process
Olivia from Dunedin
on 29/01/2023
Donna and Courtney were both so attentive and knowledgeable with everything! Made the experience feel so lovely and personalised. So glad I was able to find my perfect dress
Katie Dawson from Invercargill.
on 12/11/2022
Donna you are amazing. You knew how to steer the ship when I didn’t know what I wanted but you ended up finding the perfect dress for me and I love it. You were so accomodating to my schedule. And I love the vibe and energy you bring. You make it such a fun experience. I cannot wait to get it and feel so beautiful.
Joanne from Invercargill
on 30/10/2022
I had the privilege of being assisted by Donna. She was absolutely lovely, she really listened to what I wanted and great and very patient in helping me try lots of things, even though she actually picked the perfect dress first try!
Tori from Auckland
on 05/10/2022
I was quite worried coming into the appointment to find my wedding dress. But Donna was a star! She made sure I felt comfortable and confident and I came away with the perfect gown! Could not have dreamed of a better experience, would recommend Brides by Donna Rae to everyone.
Isabella from Queenstown
on 03/10/2022
It was amazing!!! You were so attentive and just got me. I loved my dress!!!
Paula Eddy from Timaru
on 30/09/2022
Thank you so much for making my first wedding dress try on session such an easy experience. You were so professional and made me feel very comfortable even tho I was out of my comfort zone. I will definitely be recommending you to other brides to be. You have a stunning range of dresses. Thanks again.
Courtney Withington from Invercargill
on 27/09/2022
Donna you're so talented and amazing at what you do, I couldn't be more happy with everything. I walked out with a stunning dress and a great experience.
Ashlee gibbs from Alexandra
on 26/09/2022
I was so worried I wouldn't find what I wanted as I didn't know what I wanted. But Donna made my experience the best ! I wasn't even there long before I found my yes dress. I highly recommend her best in the business. I would give her a 10 out of 10 just like my dress.